ArtsButton.JPG (3582 bytes)

redline.gif (149 bytes)


Masjid Raya Baiturrahman, Aceh



       The capital city of Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam is Banda Aceh. This province is also called "Serambi Mekah" or the veranda of Mecca, since it is considered as the closest entry from Mecca to Indonesia. The native people of this province are called the Acehnese, who are Islam. Unlike in other regions of the country, in Aceh alcohol beverages are not legally available.
        Seudati, meusakat, and ranub lam puan are some traditional dances from Aceh. Acehnese musical  instruments are made of bamboo, rattan, and horsetail.

       This province is very rich with natural resources such as oil and natural gas.

Traditional heritage of Aceh

Back to the list of provinces

redline.gif (149 bytes)      



Rumah Adat Batak Karo

Homan, 1990. Indonesia in Focus. Netherland: Edu'Actief Publishing Company.

  North Sumatra covers the area of 70,687 sq. km. Medan is the capital city of the province.  It becomes the largest city in Sumatra and the third largest city in Indonesia. The native people of this province are the Bataks. Other ethnic groups who live here  including Javanese, Acehnese, Arabians, Riau Islanders, Chinese, Indians, and Melayus.  These people  migrated to North Sumatra to seek fortune, since the province has many commercial centers and plantations.
         Some sites of interest in this province are Gang Bangkok Mosque (Medan's oldest mosque),  Parisada Hindu Dharma Temple, Vihara Gunung Timur, Roman Catholic and Protestant churches.  In addition, the capital city of Medan  has several  buildings in colonial-styled architectures. These buildings  include the central post office and the Dutch Church.  



Traditional heritage of North Sumatra

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)



Rumah Gadang
Turner, Peter. 1995.  Indonesia: A Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit.  Hong Kong: Lonely Planet Publication


        The capital city of West Sumatra is Padang. The native ethnic group of this province is the Minangkabau. Islam is the main religon of the population.
         Unlike most ethnic groups in Indonesia who practice patrilineal system, the Minang people practice matrilineal system, where the inheritage rights fall to the women. Perhaps that is why many Minangkabau men leave their villages and work in other places. Usually they open up food vendors and sell Minang foods. Minang foods are very good but they are very hot and spicy.    
      "Rumah Gadang"  or the "Big House" is the traditional house of the Minangkabau people. This house has a roof that shaped like buffalo's horns.



Traditional heritage of West Sumatra

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)



Lake Kerinci


 The capital city of the Province of Jambi is Jambi. Most of the region lies along Batanghari River. The languages spoken here are Malay, Jambi, and Indonesian. 
The native people of this province are "Orang Rimba" or the people of the jungle. Their number in 1998 is about 2,500. Usually the do hunt, gather food from the forest, and practice slash and burn agriculture.
Other ethnic groups are Kubu, Melayu, Kerinci, Bajau, Batin, and Penghulu.
Traditional dances of this province are Selampit Delapan, Rangkuang, Sekapur Sirih, and Kisan.


Traditional heritage of Jambi

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)



Jembatan Ampera


        The capital city of South Sumatra is Palembang. Musi River runs in this city. A famous bridge, the Ampera Bridge, spans on this river. In the past, Palembang was the capital city of the Sriwijaya Kingdom. South Sumatra is also welknown for its songket and rainbow textiles. 

Traditional heritage of South Sumatra

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)



Traditional Market Lampung

Indonesia, Lonely Planet. May 1995

  The province of Lampung lies on the southernmost part of Sumatra Island. Its capital is Bandar Lampung. This province has many coffee plantations. Krakatau volcano is located in this province. The port of Bakaheuni in this province and the port of Merak in the province of Banten connected Sumatra and Java Islands.

Traditional heritage of Lampung

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)


Bunga bangkai


        The province of Bengkulu was established in 1968.  The capital city is Bengkulu. 
         Bengkulu became the location where Sukarno (the first president of Indonesia) was exiled by the Dutch in 1938. He was remained there until the arrival of Japanese in 1941. Sukarno designed the Jamik Mosque.
          One of the special events in this province is the Tabot Festival. It is known as the festival of fifty colorful towers (tabots), which are made of bamboo and decorated with colored paper. This festival is attributed to the heroism of Hassan and Hussein, the grandsons of the Prophet Mohammed. Other interesting places are Panjang Beach and the lake of Dendam Tak Sudah. 



Traditional heritage of Bengkulu

Back to the list of provinces


redline.gif (149 bytes)



Danau Tawar
Sorey, Robert 1992. Indonesia: A Travel Survival Kit. Singapore: Lonely Planet Publication.

The capital city of Riau is Pekan Baru. The native people of this province are the Malays. Other groups are Batak, Minangkabau, and Chinese. 
        Riau is a province which consists of  many islands that are scattered across the South China Sea. One of them is Batam Island which located approximately 30 minutes by boat from Singapore. This island is an industrial center. Other important island is Bintan Island.
       Interesting sites in this province are the old palace of Raja Ali and the tombs and graveyards of Raja Jaafar.



Traditional heritage of Riau

Back to the list of provinces

redline.gif (149 bytes)


Back to top   
planet.gif (764 bytes) 
References    SEAsite Indonesia Home